# PhD Leadership Meeting Minutes June 12<sup>th</sup>, 2019

**Attendance:** Josh Acklin, Jim Duehr, Jesse Gelles, Maggie Hung, Denise Jurczyszak, Allison Kann, Abigail Lubin, Matthew O'Connell, Bar Nachmani, Shikha Nayar, Chris Panebianco

Absentee voting: Guha Arunkumar, Basil Hanss, Nick Upright

Meeting start time: 16:03

### **Urgent updates** 5 mins

- Security guard from 97<sup>th</sup> and Park might be removed and students hearing of this feel unsafe: Student Council Steering Committee will address this.
- Student lounge post doc access: trial period by payment will be occurring.

## **PLM Business and Management** 30 mins

- 1. Review and voting of any pre-proposed amendments to the SOPs.
  - a. Section 3.2.4: cut line; at least one member from steering only. Voted; amendment accepted.
- 2. Discussion points:
  - a. Communication from PLM to the Dean of the Graduate School (Marta Filizola)
    - i. Current structure
      - Chair emails Dean with minutes after the meeting. Associate
        Deans also in communication with Dean when larger scale
        messages need to be conveyed to the student body.
    - ii. Review and potential changes
      - 1. Big picture: Marta and Associate Deans communicate. Some of these changes go towards Steering Committee.
      - There should be an open space on the PLM agenda for Marta's input if and when she would like to add an item to the agenda for discussion.
  - b. Communication from PLM to the student body
    - i. Current structure
      - Chair to compile minutes: these are posted to the PLM website and sent to Dean. Each body has their own way of communicating with their relevant constituents.
    - ii. Review and potential changes
      - Student council newsletter includes updates from Deans, THAW, etc. People are confused wrt if this is a Graduate School or student council?
      - PhD newsletter: consolidate and add all PhD groups. Rebranding to include each different group. Logistics to be figured out by body members. Deans updates to be included in this consolidated newsletter.

# 3. Should faculty be included in this?

### Nominations and voting for Chair and Vice-chair positions 10-15 mins

- 1. Nominations and voting for Chair (secret ballot)
  - a. Shikha Nayar Chair 2019-2010
- 2. Nominations and voting for Vice-Chair (secret ballot)
  - a. Josh Acklin Vice Chair 2019-2020

## Introductions and scheduling for the 2019-2020 academic year 5-10 mins

- 1. Brief introductions of all new members of PLM
  - a. Bar Nachmani: Steering rep; will be 5<sup>th</sup> year
  - b. Chris Panebianco: Steering Student Council rep; will be 3<sup>rd</sup> year
  - c. Sindhura Gopinath: Student Affairs rep; will be 4th year
  - d. All members of 2019-2020 PLM: Josh Acklin, Guha Arunkumar, Sindhura Gopinath, Basil Hanss, Maggie Hung, Denise Jurczyszak, Allison Kann, Abigail Lubin, Bar Nachmani, Shikha Nayar, Matthew O'Connell, Chris Panebianco.
- 2. Scheduling recurring time/date for monthly PLM meetings starting July 2019
  - a. Every second X a month→ specific day and time will be arranged offline via doodle scheduling.

Meeting adjourned: 16:57

Next meeting: To be decided by doodle